Three Scouts Mural
The Lungy, Sligo (The Peace Park)
This mural shows Robert Baden-Powell (far right) along with three boy scouts. Baden-Powell founded the boy scouts in 1908, and later co-founded the girl guides as well. A scout’s group was established in Sligo in 1932. Gillooly Hall became the home of the Scouts group until 1968 when the stables at the Peace Park were converted into a new Scouts den, with the permission of the Bishop of Elphin. Today the Sligo Scouts remain an active organization, allowing young people to experience the outdoors, and learn the values of teamwork, leadership, and Self-sufficiency.